Sen. Leewright receives award from Sheriffs’ Association

State Sen. James Leewright has been honored for his efforts to support law enforcement and better protect law-abiding citizens. Leewright, R-Bristow, was given the Oklahoma Legislative Award this month, an honor awarded by the Oklahoma Sheriffs’ Association (OSA).

“It is a privilege to be able to support our local law enforcement officers,” Leewright said. “The service of our county sheriffs’ offices helps protect the lives and property of Oklahomans here in District 12 and throughout our state. I appreciate their recognition and I’m grateful for the opportunity to assist them by making sure our laws support their mission.”

During the 2018 legislative session, Leewright was Senate principal author of the Blue Lives Matter Act, mandating those convicted of killing a law enforcement officer or correctional officer will face either the death penalty or life in prison without the possibility of parole.

“Every single day, members of law enforcement risk their lives protecting fellow citizens,” Leewright said.

Leewright was also the Senate principal author of legislation to better protect the victims of sex offenders.

“We had laws preventing registered sex offenders from being too close to schools, parks and other facilities for children and youth, but became aware of a loophole that meant sex offenders could move near their victims,” Leewright said. “We passed legislation this past session closing that loophole, better protecting individuals from these predators.”

For more information, contact Sen. James Leewright at 405-521-5528, or email

Featured Image: Sen. James Leewright was recently honored by the Oklahoma Sheriff’s Association for his legislative efforts supporting local law enforcement.  Pictured left to right:  Creek County Undersheriff Joseph B. Thompson, Sen. James Leewright and Sheriff Brett Bowling.
Posted in


Community submissions include online messages and Letters to the Editor sent in from members of the community, as well as some past contributors. Want to send us a submission? Send it to