Drumight, Sand Springs make 2018 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year Finalists, Rising Stars Announced

The 12 finalists for Oklahoma’s next Teacher of the Year were announced today in a ceremony at Yukon High School during EngageOK On the Road, the summer conference of the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE).

“Classroom teachers are the heart and soul of education, and research tells us they are the most important person in the schoolhouse,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister. “Each of these 12 men and women represents the best of the best of those who have devoted their life to among the most noble and life-changing of professions.”

All finalists are teachers of the year for their districts and were selected after their application packets were reviewed by a panel that included educators, members of the business community, legislators and nonprofit partners.

The 2018 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will be revealed Sept. 19 in a ceremony at State Fair Park in Oklahoma City.

The 2018 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will remain in the classroom for the 2017-2018 school year. Beginning July 1, 2018, the honoree will assume full-time Teacher of the Year duties, which include speaking engagements and serving as Oklahoma’s teacher ambassador, encouraging others to enter or remain in the profession. The 2017 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year, Jon Hazell of Durant, will continue to tour the state until July 2018.

The Oklahoma Teacher of the Year finalists:

Click for larger view and bios.

[foogallery id=”4007″]

The 2018 Oklahoma Rising Star Teachers:

[foogallery id=”4008″]