Chieftain Band Grads Take on Higher Ed With $141,300 in Music Scholarships

[foogallery id=”195″]

Sponsored by:


In 2015 the Sapulpa Chieftain Instrumental Music program graduated the largest class of seniors in quite some time. Those seniors earned an impressive list of scholarships and are now representing Sapulpa at Division I and other universities across a 3 state area. Of the 32 seniors who graduated in May 25 are continuing their education and 13 earned scholarships for instrumental music or guard.

These graduates were part of an elite group of high school band members. In 2013-2014 under the direction of Craig Amendt, Michelle Barnes, and Brent Baldwin the Chieftain band became one of three in the state to win the coveted OSSAA Accent award for Superior ratings in marching, concert and jazz performances. In 2014 Sapulpa graduate Kevin Mozarko joined the director staff and the Chieftain marching band ranked 3rd overall in class 6A-II, and in the spring of 2015 the band brought home 63 Superior ratings from OSSAA State solo and ensemble contest.

Sponsored by:

In addition to incredible music skills, 7 band seniors were in the academic top 10% of their graduating class (20% of the group). The Senior Boy, Trey Bartlett, National Merit Scholar Jordan Wimmer, Oklahoma Academic Scholars Jade Carr and Rachel Greer were also band members. Many of these students were recipients of academic and citizenship scholarships as well.

Several students spent their summer performing in the highly competitive, prestigious Drum Corps International. Hunter McDaniels performed with Cavaliers, Lindsey Dennison with Troopers and Quazie Talamentes with The Madison Scouts. Each student had to travel to auditions in the fall and compete against some of the most talented guard students ages 16-21 in the country to earn the right to participate in the summer competitions. Quazie Talamantes earned the honor of Rookie of the Year and Most improved guard member in the Madison Scouts.

Your 2015 Sapulpa Chieftain Instrumental Music Department graduates honors are:

University of Arkansas – Fayetteville
Hunter McDaniel – $10,000 Music Scholarship
Jade Carr – $10,000 Music Scholarship

University of Arkansas – Little Rock
Melissa Legendre – $16,000 music scholarship

Oklahoma State University – Stillwater
(All students marching in the Cowboy Marching Band receive a $250 All Athletics Pass. The Cowboy Marching Band is part of the Athletics Department at OSU)
Trey Bartlett – $8,000 music scholarship
Ben Lewis
Mede Bedor
Daniel Roberts
Samantha Lazarowicz

Northeastern State University – Tahlequah
Caleb Parnell – $22,400 music scholarship
Zach Little – $12,800 music scholarship
Brady Hacker – $8,400 music scholarship
Brian Fletcher – $8,400 music scholarship

East Central University – Ada
Ethan Linfoot – $24,000 music scholarship

Pittsburgh State University – Pittsburgh, Kansas
Jack Milzarek – $12,500 music scholarship

University of Central Oklahoma – Edmond
Kasey Jackson – $8,000 music scholarship
Rachel Greer
Addison Johnson

University of Oklahoma – Norman
Jordan Wimmer – Accepted to the prestigious music composition program

Tulsa Community College
Emily Mellington – $2,000 Jazz band scholarship
Haley Woods – $1,000 music scholarship
Lindsey Dennison
Ciara Johnson
Tim Moore

Northeastern Oklahoma A&M  — Miami
Quazie Talamantes – $300 guard/flag scholarship

College of the Muskogee Nation — Okmulgee
Mikayla Bucktrot

Central Tech – Sapulpa
Lauren Pruitt